Library Services: Media, Journalism & Communications: Search Databases

News Databases

Scan the news to track issues related to companies, people and events. Use one or more of these databases, depending on your needs.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers, newswires, radio transcripts, trade and business magazines, country and company reports. Formerly LexisNexis.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional business and trade magazines covering the United States. Some international content as well. Learn to Use Regional Business News

How to Reference Articles from Newspapers

Databases Containing Academic Journals and Trade Magazines

Start with one or more of these databases which focus on a multitude of topics related to media and communications.

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A large collection of academic journals. Learn to Use Communication and Mass Media Complete

Also try one of the following databases.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals and professional magazines. Also includes country, company and industry reports. Learn to Use Business Source Complete
ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and trade magazines on topics in computer and information technology, telecommunications, electronics, etc. Learn to use ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Collection
ABI Inform Trade and Industry This link opens in a new window
Contains industry reports and magazines. Canadian content.
Learn to use ABI Inform / Terms of Use (ABI Inform)

An Example of How to Reference a Trade Journal or Magazine Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Crane, R. (2016, June 27). Why the Execution of an Idea is More Important than the Idea Itself. Advertising Age. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database.

More About Referencing Magazines

An Example of How to Reference a Report in APA @ Conestoga Format

First Research. (2016). Beer, Wine & Distilled Spirits Wholesalers - Quarterly Update 2/15/2016. [Industry Report]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database.

More About Referencing Reports
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals.
Learn to Use Academic Search Complete / Terms of Use (Academic Search Complete)
/*For Use In Future - Logo can be pasted in Description. Figure out how to hide at smaller screen size and put it in a box or circle for added snazziness*/
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Includes general interest magazines, special interest magazines, and academic journals with Canadian content. Learn to use Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database

These very specific databases should be explored if you are researching certain topics. Hover over each title to learn more about the database's coverage of topics.

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Contains critiques discussing authors and their major works. Learn to use Gale Literary Sources

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Folks, J.J. (2016). Poe and the Cogito. The Southern Literary Journal, 42(1), 57-72. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Gale Literary Sources database.

More About Referencing Academic Journals

An Example of How to Reference an eBook in APA @ Conestoga Format

Kennedy, J.G. (1998). Edgar Allan Poe. In R.W. Winks & M. Corrigan (Eds.), Mystery and Suspense Writers: The Literature of Crime, Detection, and Espionage. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Gale Literary Sources database.

More About Referencing Books
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals discussing cultural topics. Learn to use Diversity Studies Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article in APA @ Conestoga Format (when a DOI number is not present)

Fleras, A. (2016). Theorizing Micro-Aggressions as Racism 3.0: Shifting the Discourse. Canadian Ethnic Studies Journal, 48(2), 1-19. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Diversity Studies Collection

More About Referencing Academic Journals
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of magazines and academic journals related to topics in the arts. Learn to use Fine Arts and Music Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article in APA @ Conestoga Format (when no DOI number is present)

Slaven, J.E., & Krout, J.L. (2016). Musicological Analysis of Guitar Solos from the Roots of Rock Through Modern Heavy Metal. Metal Music Studies, 2(2), 245-251. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Fine Arts & Music Collection database.

More About Referencing Academic Journals

An Example of How to Reference a Magazine Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Regen, J. (2017, January). Robert Glasper: Jazz and Grooves Collide on His Band's New Release, ArtScience. Keyboard. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Fine Arts & Music Collection database.

More About Referencing Magazines
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals and magazines. Learn to use Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)

Statistical Databases

Vividata (Available Using Nielsen IMS Clear Decisions software) This link opens in a new window
Vividata provides statistics on Canadian consumer use of 2,500 products and brands as well as psychographic details influencing consumer behaviour.
An Example of How to Reference Data from Vividata

Vividata. (2016). Vividata English 2016 Q2–Frozen Pizza–Age18-24 [Data set]. Retrieved June 19, 2017, from Vividata database.

More About Referencing Data Sets
Nielsen IMS Clear Decisions Software (Remote Desktop Access & Tutorial) This link opens in a new window
Access Nielsen IMS by setting up a remote desktop on you own computer (instructions included in tutorial). The tutorial explains how to use Nielsen IMS to cross-tabulate Vividata data for deeper analysis of target markets.
An Example of How to Reference Data from Nielsen

Nielsen. (2016). Vividata 2015 Q4 Readership and Product Database Online–Frozen Pizza–Beer–Males–Age18-24 [Data set]. Retrieved June 19, 2017, from Nielsen database.

More About Referencing Data Sets
EAG Canada (Discontinued) This link opens in a new window
Conestoga has discontinued its subscription to EAG Canada Allocate software, which was available on select computers in the library. However, the alternative tools recommended in this guide offer new and unique features while performing comparable business intelligence, with the significant benefit of being online - anytime, anywhere!
An Example of How to Reference Data from EAG Canada

Environics Analytics. (2016). EAG Canada 2016–Kitchener (ON)–Food [Data set]. Retrieved June 19, 2017, from EAG Canada database.

More About Referencing Data Sets

Directories

CARDonline (Canadian Advertising Rates) This link opens in a new window
Access advertising rates for Canadian media. Includes newspapers, magazines, radio, television, etc. Note: TV listings do not contain rate information. CARDonline Tutorial: Learn how to use space card rates.
An Example of How to Reference a Media Listing from CARDonline

Brunico Communications Ltd. (2017). Canadian HR Reporter (Online). In CARDonline. Retrieved June 20, 2017, from CARDonline database.

More About Referencing Directories

Image Databases

Image-Only Databases

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of rights-cleared photos, graphics and images for educational use.
SMART Image Base - Scientific and Medical Art This link opens in a new window
Thousands of medical images, illustrations and animations.

The Gender Spectrum Collection
Contains stock photos of trans and non-binary models with the aim of facilitating more diverse and inclusive media representation.

Databases with Image Sub-Collections

Gale in Context: Canada This link opens in a new window
Includes magazines, academic journals, news articles, images, videos, etc. Canadian content. Learn to use Gale in Context: Canada

How to Reference Images

Video Databases

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
Contains instructional videos exploring software, IT, design, technology and business skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains educational streamed videos on a variety of academic, professional and technical topics.
Learn to use Films on Demand

An Example of How to Reference a Streaming Video from a Database in APA @ Conestoga Format

Caulfield, N. (Producer), & Wisniewski, L. (Producer & Director). (2003). Ethnic Fragmentation in Canada—The Power of Place: Geography for the 21st Century [Video file]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Films on Demand database.

More About Referencing Streaming Videos
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Includes films and documentaries from Criterion, California Newsreel, HBO, Psychotherapy.net, Learning Seed, Symptom Media and much more.
Learn to use Kanopy / Terms of Use (Kanopy)

An Example of How to Reference a Streaming Video from a Database in APA @ Conestoga Format

Matulich, J. (Producer), & St. John, T. (Director). (2004). The Stanford Video Guide to Negotiating [Video file]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Kanopy Streaming Service database.

More About Referencing Streaming Videos
National Film Board (NFB) Streamed Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality Canadian films and documentaries. Instructors: request access to study guides, etc

How to Reference Streaming Videos from Subscription Databases (e.g. Films on Demand)