Dental & Wellness Office Administration, 2e by Claire Palvetzian

This resource consists of supplemental materials and activities for students in ADMN 1340: Dental and Wellness Office Administration at Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning in Ontario.

CC BY-NC-SA

Hospital Unit Administration by Nancy Weatherhead

An introductory OER for students in medical and health office administration programs about the role of hospital unit coordinators, including the topics of hospital organization, staffing and scheduling, risk management, hospital communication processes, patient care records, registration, surgical procedures, and transfer & discharge.

CC BY-NC-SA

Building a Medical Terminology Foundation 2e by Kimberlee Carter; Marie Rutherford; and Connie Stevens

Building a Medical Terminology Foundation is an OER that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of introductory anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for health office administration and health services students in the first year of their college programs.

CC BY-NC-SA

Building a Medical Terminology 2e – Student Companion Workbook by Kimberlee Carter; Marie Rutherford; and Connie Stevens

This printable workbook accompanies and aligns with content from Building a Medical Terminology Foundation 2e. The workbook contains an array of interactive activities, downloadable documents, and printable material designed to reinforce learning concepts. Consistency and practice are the keys to mastering medical terminology. Whether you are in health office administration, nursing, or any health-related field, this workbook provides a breakdown of learning in manageable portions.

CC BY

Building a Medical Terminology 2e – Anatomical Colouring Book by Kimberlee Carter; Marie Rutherford; and Connie Stevens

The collection of anatomical illustrations in this resource is designed to encourage exploration and spark a learner’s interest in anatomical function and structure. Associating colors with structures helps to create strong visual cues for memory and knowledge recall. The integration of text with images reinforces the connection of the structure to the related terminology. When you encounter the term later, the colored image often serves as a mental trigger. Anatomy is not isolated parts; it is more about how each part fits together. As you work through the illustrations in this resource, you are mentally processing information about each anatomical part.

CC BY

Stories of Hope, Vol. 1: Reflections on Resilience by Laura Quirk

Stories of Hope: Reflections on Resilience is an ongoing project consisting of personal essays and other narrative or artistic forms. The goal of the project is to share stories of hope in the face of adversity. The essays in this first volume are first-person accounts of living with multiple sclerosis (MS) and depression, which makes it particularly relevant to students in disability studies, health care professions, and community or human services professions.

CC BY-NC-ND

Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Administrators by Kimberlee Carter; Marie Rutherford; and Connie Stevens

Welcome to Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Administrators Digital Text Open Educational Resources (OER). These resources are intended for learners preparing for positions in front-line health care settings. Recognizing the diverse titles for these types of roles, we intend that the title Health Care Administrator is an umbrella term that includes all types of front-line Health Care Administrators.  This OER is intended to be used with the companion resources, Therapeutic Communications for Health Care Administrators Game Simulations to be released in Spring 2022.

CC BY-NC-SA

Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Administrators Game Simulations by Kimberlee Carter; Marie Rutherford; and Connie Stevens

Welcome to Therapeutic Communication for Health Care Administrators Game Simulations (OER). These resources are intended for learners preparing for positions in front-line health care settings. Recognizing the diverse titles for these types of roles, we intend that the title Health Care Administrator is an umbrella term that includes all types of front-line Health Care Administrators. These OER are intended to be used as companion resources to, the digital text Health Care Communication for Health Care Administrators.

CC BY-NC-SA

Introducción al Español: Spanish Workbook by Betty Múnera Rojas

This workbook is an adaptation of the Spanish language textbook Introducción al Español, an Open Educational Resource by Prof. Rita Palacios. Its purpose is to complement the textbook by providing beginner-level college students with a range of interactive exercises to enhance their Spanish language skills.

CC BY-NC-SA

Introducción al Español by Rita Palacios

Introducción al Español is a basic Spanish language textbook designed to develop reading, writing, and speaking skills of college students in classrooms across Canada. Different topics will be used to support the use and development of correct grammar skills and vocabulary. The material is presented in a reader-friendly, accessible way, with audio files accompanying vocabulary lists to reinforce correct pronunciation and H5P interactives included to engage and reinforce learning.

CC BY-NC-SA

Introduction to French, 2e by Rita Palacios

Introduction to French is a basic French language textbook designed to develop reading, writing, and speaking skills of college students in classrooms across Canada. Different topics will be used to support the use and development of correct grammar skills and vocabulary. The material is presented in a reader-friendly, AODA-compliant way, with audio files accompanying vocabulary lists to reinforce correct pronunciation and H5P interactives included to engage and reinforce learning.

CC BY-NC-SA

Introduction to French by Rita Palacios

Introduction to French is a basic French language textbook designed to develop reading, writing, and speaking skills of college students in classrooms across Canada. Different topics will be used to support the use and development of correct grammar skills and vocabulary. The material is presented in a reader-friendly, AODA-compliant way, with audio files accompanying vocabulary lists to reinforce correct pronunciation and H5P interactives included to engage and reinforce learning.

CC BY-NC-SA

Conestoga English Language Reader 3, 2e by Esther Devries-Lasby

This reader includes articles written from the perspective of English Language teachers in Canada. Each chapter explores a different topic, and some articles give students a chance to learn more about the area in Southern Ontario where Conestoga College is located. The language included in the chapter allows intermediate language students to enhance their vocabulary. This includes focusing on a list of 20 target vocabulary words from the Academic Word List in each chapter. Students are encouraged to use this reader to practice reading skills, engage in discussion, form opinions, and learn more words.

CC BY-NC-SA

Career Coaching Techniques: A Guide for Instructors by Rob Straby

This OER is a guide for instructors who teach career coaching and counselling courses. It takes the reader through various steps in the career coaching process, from initiating the relationship with the client to helping them explore career options. It ends with a chapter on decision-making where the client has chosen a potential career pathway. The OER presents the theories of respected academics and models the techniques used by many well-known career professionals, including the life role analysis model, also known as the Self-Portrait model, by Kris Magnusson and Dave Redekopp. It also presents activities like the vocational card sort activity that the instructor can use in class with their students. The author has the unique perspective of being a practitioner who has helped thousands of Canadians navigate career transitions, as well as an instructor of career coaching and counselling. Career Coaching Techniques is full of anecdotes from the author’s career development practice and experience as a teacher.

CC BY-NC-SA

Career Guide for Health and Wellness Office Administrative Professionals, 2e by Ellen Dilgert

Beginning your first career, or a new career, is both exciting and challenging. This open educational resource provides a road map for your journey toward a successful, fulfilling, and rewarding career. Topics include professionalism, goal setting, career documents, networking, and interviewing, with additional advice for international job seekers and job seekers with disabilities.

CC BY-NC-SA

Let's Talk Careers by Lisa Bauman

This resource is a companion to the Let’s Talk Careers with Career Profs podcast. During the podcast, Lisa Bauman and her colleague Claudia Mellad use the 4-Quadrant Method of Informational Interviews, talking to several guests about their careers. Our guests inspired this companion resource so that their words of wisdom can be shared with a wide audience. Learners will listen to inspiring conversations with selected guests and explore key concepts through interactive activities to take them deeper into concepts related to managing one’s career.

CC BY-NC-SA

Career Guide for Health and Wellness Office Administrative Professionals by Ellen Dilgert

Beginning your first career, or a new career is both exciting and challenging. This book will guide you along the journey towards a successful, fulfilling, and rewarding health or wellness office career.

CC BY-NC-SA

Teaching Group Dynamics: A Guide for Faculty by Laura Quirk

What exactly is a flipped classroom? In traditional classes, students learn and acquire content through in-class lectures and do the more difficult work of applying the content by themselves on homework assignments outside of class. Flipping a class reverses this, moving content acquisition for learning outside of the class and moving the application of content into the classroom where students can benefit from the presence of the instructor and their classmates as they learn. In this OER, you will learn how to teach this sort of classroom, the value of this approach, the role of the Professor and how this approach helps students acquire essential employability skills.

CC BY-NC-SA

Conestoga College Liberated Learners Resource by Rebecca Duffy; Jenni Hayman; and Harpreet Kaur

Winner of the 2022 Open Education Global Award for Best OER. This project is based significantly on the original Liberated Learners Pressbooks project (published in February 2022). The resource has four modules: The Learner, The Navigator, The Collaborator, and The Technologist. Taken together, the modules aim to enable a well-rounded and ready-for-almost-anything post-secondary learner.

CC BY-NC

Training Kit for OER Assistants at Conestoga College by Holly Ashbourne

This training kit will introduce student employees to the position of OER assistant as well as provide background information on OER, Pressbooks, H5P, as well as accessibility and copyright considerations that need to be made. The intention of this kit is that it will prepare our student employees for providing first line quality checks of OER adaptations and creations here at Conestoga College.

CC BY-NC-SA

Claim Your Tuition Tax Credit (Federal) – T2202 by Abraham Ibrahim and Tracy Vanderwyk

Students who have paid eligible tuition fees to an accredited post-secondary institution can claim the non-refundable Federal Tuition Tax Credit on their personal tax return. This resource provides students with the information required to claim this tax credit.

CC BY-NC-SA

Food Studies: Matter, Meaning, Movement by David Szanto; Amanda Di Battista; and Irena Knezevic

Food Studies aims to help readers understand and address numerous issues within food, food culture, and food systems. These subjects transcend disciplinary boundaries and call attention to how matter, meaning, and movement produce complex and dynamic food-human realities. Chapters range from sovereignty to breastfeeding, financialization to food porn, pollination to fair trade. Embedded throughout, art, poetry, illustration, and audiovisual works offer moments to reflect on and synthesize the text-based entries. Through reading, classroom discussion, and engaging with the extensive pedagogical tools, learners and teachers alike may acquire a new sense of things foodish—along with a new sense of their own place and role within food systems themselves.

CC BY-NC-SA

Enhanced Introductory College Chemistry by Gregory Anderson; Caryn Fahey; Jackie MacDonald; Adrienne Richards; Samantha Sullivan Sauer; J.R. van Haarlem; and David Wegman

Enhanced Introductory College Chemistry is a collaboratively created textbook with Georgian College, Loyalist College and Conestoga College supported by a VLS grant from eCampus Ontario. It is designed to address most chemistry topics covered in an introductory chemistry course in most program areas. Topics include measurement, matter, atomic theory, nomenclature, moles, chemical equations, stoichiometry, chemical bonding, gases, liquids, solutions, acids and bases, equilibrium and oxidation-reduction. Each chapter contains examples, relevant images, embedded videos, exercises and interactive exercises with answers, links to external interactive tools, glossary, and review practice questions with selected answers. A noted effort was made to include Indigenous examples to support chemistry learning as well as highlighting Scientists in Action. Extensive resources to support Indigenization of chemistry and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in chemistry are provided in the front matter. Accessibility of learning material was addressed through descriptive alt-text and screen reader supported text wherever possible.

Additional resources of image banks for faculty are also available. Authors of this book will use portions of it for introductory chemistry courses in Biotechnology, Environmental Science, College and Career Preparation and Pre-Health Science programs.

CC BY

OATCJ: Open Access Teaching Case Journal by OATCJ Editorial Committee

The Open Access Teaching Case Journal (OATCJ) is a multi-disciplinary repository of quality, real-world teaching cases for students and instructors that are free-to-use, free-to-publish, and accessible to all. The journal is supported using open educational practices (OEP) and is aligned with the United Nations Principles of Responsible Management Education (PRME) by providing a rigorous and developmentally supportive peer-review process for case authors without the expectation of financial remuneration. OATCJ has a diverse Editorial Board and a robust reviewer community from a broad spectrum of disciplines.

CC BY-NC-ND

RCELA : Revue de Cas d'Enseignement en Libre Accès by Comité de Rédaction de la RCELA

La Revue de Cas d’Enseignement en Libre Accès (RCELA) est un dépôt pluridisciplinaire de cas d’enseignement réels et de haute qualité pour les étudiants ou étudiantes et professeurs ou professeures qui sont gratuits à utiliser, gratuits à publier, et accessible à tout le monde. Cette revue est soutenue en utilisant des politiques de l’éducation en libre accès (PELA) et s’aligne aux Principes pour l’Éducation de la Gestion Responsable des Nations-Unis (United Nations Principles for Responsible Management Education – PRME) en fournissant un processus d’évaluation par les pairs rigoureux qui soutient le développement des auteurs ou auteures des cas, sans l’attente de rémunération financière. La RCELA a un Comité de Rédaction divers et une communauté solide d’évaluateurs d’un large spectre de disciplines.

CC BY-NC-ND

ENVR1060 – Climate and Sustainability Foundations

This course introduces learners to core concepts surrounding carbon emissions, the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), climate change, and sustainability initiatives. Participants will examine how different levels of government are addressing climate challenges and discover actionable strategies to mitigate and reverse climate change impacts, both individually and within their organizations.