Library & Learning Services: Facilities & the Built Environment: Search Databases

Article Databases

Start with one or more of these article databases:

Each database contains a variety of subject-specific resources including scholarly journals, professional and trade magazines, news, and the like.

For complementary suggestions, please visit the Interior Design & Architecture Guide.

Emerald Insight - Property Management and Built Environment Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals on construction, property management, disaster resilience, and sustainable development.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
A site devoted to building design through a lens of sustainability. Contains authoritative information on progressive building design strategies, topics and issues.
Building Types Online This link opens in a new window
A large international collection documenting contemporary building types with a focus on floor plans and other architectural drawings.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Academic journal and magazine articles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment including content on green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals on topics such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
A portal to research on environmental issues. Includes academic journals, professional magazines, and encyclopedias.Learn to use Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals on science and engineering.Learn to Use Applied Science & Technology FT
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals.
Learn to Use Academic Search Complete / Terms of Use (Academic Search Complete)
/*For Use In Future - Logo can be pasted in Description. Figure out how to hide at smaller screen size and put it in a box or circle for added snazziness*/
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals and trade magazines covering environmental issues and policies. Learn to use Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article in APA @ Conestoga Format (when a DOI number is present)

Browne, G.R., & Rutherfurd, D. (2017). The Case for "Environment in All Policies": Lessons from the "Health in All Policies" Approach in Public Health. Environmental Health Perspectives, 48(2), 149-154. http://dx.doi.org.eztest.ocls.ca/10.1289/EHP294

More About Referencing Academic Journals

An Example of How to Reference a Trade Journal or Magazine Article (Without an Author) in APA @ Conestoga Format

Can Mining Be Sustainable? (2017, April 24). Down to Earth. Retrieved May 1, 2017, from Environmental Studies & Policy database.

More About Referencing Magazines
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals on topics related to engineering.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals on topics of applied and general sciences.
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A collection of academic journals and magazines covering topics in science. Learn to use General Science Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article (without a DOI number) in APA @ Conestoga Format

Baig, M.D. et al. (2016). Implementation of Atmospheric Water Generation by Dehumidification Process. Science International, 28(6), 5105. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from General Science Collection database.

More About Referencing Academic Journals

An Example of How to Reference a Magazine or News Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Maldarelli, C. (2016, November-December). Our Bodies Can Kill Cancer. Popular Mechanics. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from General Reference Center Gold database.

More About Referencing Magazines & News Sources (Newspapers, Newswires, etc)
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Online database for scientific and technical research.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains academic and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. Canadian content.
Learn to use ABI Inform / Terms of Use (ABI Inform)
br{display: none;}

An Example of How to Reference a Trade Journal or Magazine Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Crane, R. (2016, June 27). Why the Execution of an Idea is More Important than the Idea Itself. Advertising Age. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database.

More About Referencing Magazines

An Example of How to Reference a Report in APA @ Conestoga Format

First Research. (2016). Beer, Wine & Distilled Spirits Wholesalers - Quarterly Update 2/15/2016. [Industry Report]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database.

More About Referencing Reports

Subject-Specific Resources:

IFMA FM Buyer's Guide
Online database of facilities products and services. Directory of companies.

Looking for Open Access Journals?

Journal of Facilities Management Education and Research
Digital Commons Network: Architecture Open Access Journals
Search free scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Directory of Open Access Journals: Architecture
Directory of Open Access Journals: Building Construction

Search for Magazines, Newspapers and Journals by Title

Journal / Magazine Search

E-book Collections

Explore the full text of hundreds of thousands of books electronically, with 24/7 access wherever you have an internet connection.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Contains engineering eBooks. Terms of Use (Access Engineering)
EBSCOhost eBook & Audiobook Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of eBooks on a range of topics. In addition to online viewing, many are downloadable. A small set of audiobooks is also available.How to Download an EBSCO ebook / Terms of Use (EBSCO Academic eBook Collection)

An Example of How to Reference an eBook in APA @ Conestoga Format

Boniwell, I. (2012). Positive Psychology In A Nutshell: The Science of Happiness (3rd ed.). Retrieved January 1, 2017, from EBSCOhost Ebook Collection database.

More About Referencing Books

An Example of How to Reference an Entry in a Dictionary or Encyclopedia in APA @ Conestoga Format

Anxiety Disorders. (2010). In N.A. Piotrowski (Ed.), Salem Health: Psychology and Mental Health. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from EBSCOhost Ebook Collection database.

More About Referencing Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A large collection of eBooks on many different college-level topics. Includes Canadian content. How to Download an eBook Central ebook / Terms of Use (eBook Central - College Complete eBook Collection)

An Example of How to Reference an eBook in APA @ Conestoga Format

Juntunen, V.R. (2013). Child Abuse Sourcebook. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Ebook Central database.

More About Referencing Books
O'Reilly Media (formerly Safari Books) This link opens in a new window
Books, videos and more. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Formerly Safari eBooks.

Video Collections

The Library provides a wide variety of streaming videos including documentaries and educational films. Search for the subject you are interested in, such as Architecture, Design, Structural Engineering, etc.

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
Contains instructional videos exploring software, IT, design, technology and business skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains many related videos including architecture, building construction, business education, teams and communications, and civil engineering.

An Example of How to Reference a Streaming Video from a Database in APA @ Conestoga Format

Caulfield, N. (Producer), & Wisniewski, L. (Producer & Director). (2003). Ethnic Fragmentation in Canada—The Power of Place: Geography for the 21st Century [Video file]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Films on Demand database.

More About Referencing Streaming Videos
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Includes related documentaries and films under the Engineering and Environmental Sciences playlists.

An Example of How to Reference a Streaming Video from a Database in APA @ Conestoga Format

Matulich, J. (Producer), & St. John, T. (Director). (2004). The Stanford Video Guide to Negotiating [Video file]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Kanopy Streaming Service database.

More About Referencing Streaming Videos

Image Collections

Search the Library's image collections for pictures of significant buildings or other structures. You can use these images in your reports and presentations, or easily post them to eConestoga.

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of rights-cleared photos, graphics and images for educational use.