Math for Trades Series by Chad Flinn and Mark Overgaard

Volume 1 represents the building blocks for math training. The book includes whole numbers, fractions, decimals, and percents. The material is presented from a trades perspective with easy-to-understand examples and video explanations accompanying questions. The goal of this volume is to get students prepared for the more advanced topics that they will encounter during their trades math education.

Volume 2 increases the challenge with topics such as converting units and working with equations, perimeter, area, and volume.

Volume 3 continues the journey through math with topics such as capacities, pressure and total force, grade and total fall and trigonometry. These topics take the foundation that as been built in the first two volumes and adds new layers. Once again the material is presented from a trades perspective with easy-to-understand examples and video explanations accompanying questions. There is also a voiceover which follows along with each section and chapter. This material should provide useful in the continuation of your trades training.

CC BY

Blueprint Reading by Mark Lorier

Learn to interpret technical drawings with symbols, dimensions, and hands-on exercises for careers in trades and engineering.

CC BY

Introduction to Drafting and AutoCAD 3D by Wally Baumback

This book is a tool to guide and teach you to master AutoCAD 3D. No two students learn at the same pace, therefore the book was written with competency-based modules. The competency-based modules are bite-size pieces that allows you to work at your own pace. They can be used to learn by distance education, correspondence, online, instructor-lead classes, or by individuals teaching themselves to use AutoCAD in their own home or office.

CC BY

Trades Access Common Core - Line A : Safe Work Practices Competency Series by Rod Lidstone

Safety is a part of the job. When you take a job, you have a safety obligation to your employer, co-workers, family, and yourself. By recognizing and understanding the hazards in your work area, you can prevent the occurrence of many accidents. Most accidents are preventable. Both employees and employers must take responsibility for making the workplace safe. The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books. Line A Books include:

A-1 - Control Workplace Hazards

A-2 - Describe WorkSafeBC Regulations

A-3 - Handle Hazardous Materials Safely

A-4 - Describe Personal Safety Practices

A-5 - Describe Fire Safety

CC BY

Trades Access Common Core - Line B : Employability Skills Competency Series by Rod Lidstone

Every learner has different abilities, backgrounds, and life experiences. Some individuals will be entering a trades program directly from high school as part of a dual-credit program or youth initiative and have limited experience outside of the classroom. Others may have been out ofthe formal education system for a number of years, but bring valuable years of work experience into the classroom. Regardless of where you are starting from, integral to your success in postsecondary education is developing effective study and learning skills. Time spent on these learning tasks will increase the effectiveness of time spent on all other learning tasks in your training program. In addition, the techniques that you choose to adopt and the effective study routine that you develop will benefit you in lifelong learning, be it formal or informal, at school, on the job, or for your own personal interest. The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books.

B-1 - Apply Study and Learning Skills

B-2 - Describe Expectations and Responsibilities of Employers and Employees

B-3 - Use Interpersonal Communication Skills

B-4 - Describe the Apprenticeship System

CC BY

Trades Access Common Core - Line C : Tools and Equipment Competency Series by Rod Lidstone

Hand tools are used in almost every trade, but many of them have particular applications in a specific trade. It is likely you have used some of these tools already at work, at school, or at home, but this may be the first time you have had the chance to study some of the tools' designs and applications in detail. The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books.

C-1 - Describe Common Hand Tools and Their Uses

C-2 - Describe Common Power Tools and Their Uses

C-3 - Describe Rigging and Hoisting Equipment

C-4 - Describe Ladders and Work Platforms

CC BY

Trades Access Common Core - Line D : Organizational Skills Competency Series by Rod Lidstone

Essential skills are used in every job to varying degrees and at different levels of complexity. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve in their jobs and adapt to changes in the workplace. The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books.

D-1 - Solve Trades Mathematical Problems

D-2 - Apply Science Concepts to Trades Applications

D-3 - Read Drawings and Specifications

D-4 - Use Codes, Regulations and Standards

D-5 - Use Manufacturer and Supplier Documentation

D-6 - Plan Projects

CC BY

Trades Access Common Core - Line E : Electrical Fundamentals Competency Series by Rod Lidstone

You will use electricity daily. Vehicles and machinery are started and often operated by electricity. Electric tools make the performance of your job easier and more efficient. However, to use electricity safely and effectively, it is important to understand electricity's terminology and principles. The following list of lines and competencies was generated with the goal of creating an entry-level trades training resource, while still offering the flexibility for lines to be used as stand-alone books.

E-1 - Describe the Basic Principles of Electricity

E-2 - Identify Common Circuit Components and Their Symbols

E-3 - Explain Wiring Connections

E-4 - Use Multimeters

CC BY

Open BCT: An Introduction to Building and Construction Trades by Patrick Moore, Alexander Greengaard, and AJ Fox

Open BCT is an introductory course in the building and construction trades. Students can use this book to identify and practice the skills used daily by craft workers.

CC BY

2025 Innovation in the Construction Industry by Carrie Sturts Dossick and Lauren Ray (editors)

A collection of case studies about adopting new technologies and changing practices in design, construction, and operations of the built environment.

CC BY-NC-ND

Building Construction and Materials by Leslie Forehand

This textbook, “Building Construction and Materials,” is intended to serve as an illuminating guide, unraveling the complexity of this field. Whether you are an architecture or civil engineering student, a professional seeking to deepen your knowledge, or simply a curious reader desiring to understand the built world around you better, this book will cater to your needs. It will navigate the historical development of construction techniques, examine the various materials used, unravel the science behind them, explore the tools and techniques involved in construction, and delve into the role of sustainability in contemporary building practices.

CC BY-NC-SA

Building Maintenance & Construction : Tools and Maintenance Tasks by Clifford Rutherford

Building Maintenance & Construction: Tools and Maintenance Tasks introduces and develops knowledge of basic building maintenance tools and materials, applied skills and techniques, industry health and safety standards, and preventive maintenance and troubleshooting practices required by employers for entry-level positions in the building trades and facilities maintenance fields.

CC BY

Introduction to Welding by Douglas Rupik

Introduction to Welding is an essential guide for you as you start your Welding program or explore career options in Welding. This full-color text provides a comprehensive introduction to the foundational concepts that are common across the Welding profession. It serves as a solid base for further learning in specific courses and is a great foundation for working in welding shops. The book's goal is to offer an introduction so that you can familiarize yourself with key concepts before you begin more complex coursework.

CC BY

Welding Theory Fundamentals by Cary Flanigan

This book covers welding theory fundamentals for the welding certificate and degree programs at Clover Park Technical College, a two-year technical college.

CC BY-NC

Pattern Development: Sheet Metal Level 1 by Brian Coey

This book covers all three forms of layout as well as geometric construction. It introduces the learner to the techniques used in parallel line, radial line, and triangulation. With videos and animations, the learner has an opportunity to play, pause, and rewind as they practice these techniques. This book covers material required for a level 1 sheet metal apprentice (Line E).

CC BY

Interpretation of Metal Fab Drawings by Cameren Moran

Interpreting metal fab drawings is a course that introduces the principles of interpretation and application of industrial fabrication drawings. Basic principles and techniques of metal fabrication are introduced by planning and construction of fixtures used in fabrication from drawings. Basic tools and equipment for layout fitting of welded fabrications are utilized. Covers the use and application of the AWS welding symbols. This course will utilize blueprints and welding symbols and will apply them in classroom and in shop as practical assignments.

CC BY

F-1 Materials by Brian Coey

In sheet metal, you work with a wide array of different metals, including steel, aluminum, copper, and brass. Identifying and selecting the right metal for the job is an essential skill for a sheet metal worker. This book covers different styles of metals, how to identify them, and the different ways they can be used.

CC BY

Introduction to Machining by Micky R. Jennings, D.M. Donner, and Tim A. Bacon

Introduction to Machining is authored by experienced professionals from the machining industry who are now educators in Washington State. This book offers a diverse and practical perspective, drawing on the authors' firsthand knowledge and expertise. Students will benefit from comprehensive insights into industry practices, real-world applications, and the foundational concepts essential for success in the field.

CC BY

Basic Motor Control by Aaron Lee and Chad Flinn

This readily accessible online resource was developed for anyone who has interest in, or works with, AC motors and their associated motor control equipment. Whether you are an electrical apprentice learning about the subject in school or a seasoned journeyperson installing equipment in the field, you will find it easy to navigate through the descriptive text, original diagrams, and explanatory videos to find the exact information you are looking for.

CC BY

Basic HVAC by Aaron Lee

This readily accessible online introductory resource was developed for anyone who has interest in, or works with, HVAC controls and equipment. Designed for electrical and HVAC apprentices learning about the subject in school, you will find the descriptive text and original diagrams easy to navigate through, while the question bank will help students review the subject matter covered in each section.

CC BY

The Electric Academy by @TheElectricAcademy

Sometimes electrical theory can come across as confusing. The videos you find here will be simple and to the point. Why use big terms and concepts when you don't have to! Videos are being added constantly so subscribe so you don't miss any.

CC BY

An Electrician's Guide to: Basic Electricity by Chad Flinn

To safely work with electricity, it is important to have a grasp of the basic theories. Whether we are talking about atomic structure, electrical terms, or measurement devices, understanding the theory of electricity is a key concept. This textbook, divided into three sections, provides easy-to-understand and enjoyable lessons on atomic structure, electrical units, and measurement devices for those training and working as electricians.

CC BY

Applied Electrical Engineering Fundamentals by David J. McLaughlin and William C. Howe

This on-line textbook serves as an introduction to electrical engineering concepts and applications for non- electrical & computer engineering majors. This text was written to accompany the course ECE361 – Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

CC BY

Trigonometry and Single Phase AC Generation for Electricians by Chad Flinn

To understand electrical theory, it is important to have a grasp of trigonometry. Whether we are talking about single phase or polyphase power, trigonometry is a key concept. This textbook, divided into three sections and provides easy-to-understand and enjoyable lessons on trigonometry, vectors, and AC generation for those training and working as electricians.

CC BY

Plumbing Apprenticeship Program Level 3 Series by Industry Training Authority BC

Block A: Sewers

Block B: Water Services and Distribution Systems

Block D: Compressed Air Systems

Block E: Fuel Gas Systems

Block F: Hydronic Heating and Cooling Systems

Block G: Green Thermal Systems

CC BY-NC-SA

Plumbing Apprenticeship Program Level 4 Series by SkilledTradesBC

Block A: Medical Gas Systems

Block B: Fuel Gas Systems

Block C: Rural Water Supply

Block D: Sewage Treatment Systems

Block E: Transition to Journeyperson

Block F: Commission and Service

CC BY-NC-SA