Article Databases
Start with one or more of these article databases. Each database contains a variety of resources, including academic journals, professional/trade magazines, news articles, and more.
-
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Centre) This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals related to education, teaching and learning.
-
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new windowA large collection of academic journals, reports and reference sources related to the field of education.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals on topics in health and social sciences.
-
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals for research in the field of education.
Also try the following multidisciplinary databases.
-
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
-
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new windowRecords for academic journals and magazines on culture, philosophy, literature, art and other humanities topics.
-
Psychology eCollection This link opens in a new windowAcademic Journals and magazines related to psychology.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes academic journals related to all areas of sociology and social work.
Databases Containing Canadian Sources of Information
-
Gale in Context: Canada This link opens in a new windowResearch a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places and events. Articles with lower lexile ranges (200-750) are easier to read. Choose a lexile score under the search page's Search Options.
-
Canadian Points of View This link opens in a new windowContains essays, magazine articles and journal articles presenting multiple perspectives on current issues.
-
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new windowA collection magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books.
-
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes general interest magazines, special interest magazines, and academic journals with Canadian content.
-
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new windowContains Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail and Canadian biographies. You can limit your search by word count by choosing a word count range on the Advanced Search page.
Encyclopedias
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive encyclopedia, including videos, country comparisons, biographies, and a world atlas.
brittanica, brittannica, encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Online, encyclopedia brittanica, encyclopedia brittannica, brittannica academic, brittanica academic
-
Encyclopedia of Education, 2003Research institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges, universities, organizations.
News Databases
Scan the news for major events affecting business, as well as hard-to-find details on competitors.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains newspapers, newswires, radio transcripts, trade and business magazines, country and company reports. Formerly LexisNexis.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowRegional business and trade magazines covering the United States. Some international content as well.
Image Collections
-
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new windowContains millions of rights-cleared photos, graphics and images for educational use.
brittanica, brittannica, encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Online, encyclopedia brittanica, encyclopedia brittannica, brittannica image quest, brittanica image quest, image quest
Video Collections
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowContains educational streamed videos on a variety of academic, professional and technical topics.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIncludes films and documentaries from Criterion, California Newsreel, HBO, Psychotherapy.net, Learning Seed, Symptom Media and much more.