Library & Learning Services: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources: Databases

Databases

The Library has a number of databases that can be searched for further information and resources on Diversity and Inclusion. The following links will redirect to databases for further searching. We recommend the following databases:

Canadian Points of View This link opens in a new window
Contains essays, magazine articles and journal articles presenting multiple perspectives on current issues. Learn to Use Canadian Points of View
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals discussing cultural topics. Learn to use Diversity Studies Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article in APA @ Conestoga Format (when a DOI number is not present)

Fleras, A. (2016). Theorizing Micro-Aggressions as Racism 3.0: Shifting the Discourse. Canadian Ethnic Studies Journal, 48(2), 1-19. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Diversity Studies Collection

More About Referencing Academic Journals
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of magazines and academic journals related to topics in the arts. Learn to use Fine Arts and Music Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article in APA @ Conestoga Format (when no DOI number is present)

Slaven, J.E., & Krout, J.L. (2016). Musicological Analysis of Guitar Solos from the Roots of Rock Through Modern Heavy Metal. Metal Music Studies, 2(2), 245-251. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Fine Arts & Music Collection database.

More About Referencing Academic Journals

An Example of How to Reference a Magazine Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Regen, J. (2017, January). Robert Glasper: Jazz and Grooves Collide on His Band's New Release, ArtScience. Keyboard. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Fine Arts & Music Collection database.

More About Referencing Magazines
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals covering aspects of gender in culture and society. Learn to use Gender Studies Collection

An Example of How to Reference an Academic Journal Article (without a DOI number) in APA @ Conestoga Format

Hellman, M., & Majamaki, M. (2016). Ordinary Men with Extra-Ordinary Skills? Masculinity Constructs Among MMORPG-Gamers. The Journal of Research in Gender Studies, 6(2), 90-106. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from Gender Studies Collection database.

More About Referencing Academic Journals
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Contains instructional videos exploring software, IT, design, technology and business skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals.
OverDrive This link opens in a new window
Thousands of magazines, as well as a growing collection of popular fiction and non-fiction eBooks. View online or download for one or two week loan.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Thousands of newspapers from 120+ countries in 60+ languages. Includes all major Canadian newspapers.
Road to IELTS This link opens in a new window
Readings and practice questions to help students prepare for the International English Language Test System exam - General or Academic.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Learn to use World History Collection