Irwin Law Books
Vlex - Irwin Law eBooks
Over 300 books from Irwin Law, one of Canada's leading publishers of textbooks for exploring legal commentary.
Article Databases
Start with one or more of these article databases. Each database contains a variety of resources, including academic journals, professional/trade magazines, news articles, and more.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals, books, reports, and dissertations related to criminology.
Learn to Use Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text - Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals and trade magazines related to criminology.
Learn to use Criminal Justice Database - Sage Journals - Criminology and Criminoal Justice Subject Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 40 scholarly journals from Sage.
Note: When Searching, select "Only content I have full access to" on the Advanced Search page. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains newspapers, newswires, radio transcripts, trade and business magazines, country and company reports. Formerly LexisNexis.
Also try the following multidisciplinary databases.
- Humanities International Index This link opens in a new windowRecords for academic journals and magazines on culture, philosophy, literature, art and other humanities topics.
Learn to Use Humanities International Index - Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA specialized collection of professional magazines related to the insurance and liability industry.
Learn to use Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile) - Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspapers and magazines pertaining to military and government issues. Contains some international coverage, including Canada.
Learn to Use Military & Government Collection - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals in the field of psychology.
Learn to Use PsycARTICLES - Psychology eCollection This link opens in a new windowAcademic Journals and magazines related to psychology.
Learn to use Psychology eCollection - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIncludes academic journals related to all areas of sociology and social work.
Learn to Use SocINDEX with FT - War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowMagazines and reports discussing conflicts and their multiple causes.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)Contains 60,000 government and research reports.
- JuristatStatistics and analysis related to Canada's justice system. Annual Juristat publications are produced for: crime statistics, homicide, impaired driving, justice system resources and expenditures, youth court statistics, youth custody and probation and corrections statistics.
Databases Containing Canadian Sources of Information
- Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA unique collection of academic journals related to law enforcement and criminology.
Learn to use Criminal Justice Collection - Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals and trade magazines related to criminology.
Learn to use Criminal Justice Database
Canadian Statutes & Cases
- LawSource This link opens in a new window
Contains Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, which provides a clear overview of any legal topic based on case law and regulatory statutes. In addition, Law Source also contains a wealth of case law reports, journals, and law reviews. An excellent source to begin your legal research.
- QuickLaw (New Interface) This link opens in a new windowIncludes court decisions, tribunal cases, legislation, and more.
- Vlex - Irwin Law eBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 300 books from Irwin Law, one of Canada's leading publishers of textbooks for exploring legal commentary.
Learn to use Vlex Irwin Law
- e-LawsSearch all Ontario statutes and regulations.
- CanLII – Canadian Legal Information InstituteSearch for legal information from federal and provincial legislation, courts, and boards and tribunals. Simple to use.
- Canadian Gazette I, II and IIIPublishes new statutes and regulations, proposed regulations, decisions of administrative boards and government notices.
Canada Gazette, Parts 1-3 (1998-Present)
You can also browse the Canada Gazette archives. - Justice Laws (Federal Statutes)Search all federal consolidated acts & regulations.
- How to Cite Statutes, Regulations and CasesFor legal citations, consult Queen's University's excellent website based on The McGill Guide: The Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation.
Encyclopedia of Forms
Video Collections
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowContains educational streamed videos on a variety of academic, professional and technical topics.
Learn to use Films on Demand - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIncludes films and documentaries from Criterion, California Newsreel, HBO, Psychotherapy.net, Learning Seed, Symptom Media and much more.
Learn to use Kanopy / Terms of Use (Kanopy)
Image Databases
- Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of rights-cleared photos, graphics and images for educational use.
brittanica, brittannica, encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Online, encyclopedia brittanica, encyclopedia brittannica, brittannica image quest, brittanica image quest, image quest