Skip to Main Content

Standards Bodies

National (Canada)

Standards Council of Canada (SCC)

The Standards Council of Canada is a federal Crown corporation. It has its mandate to promote efficient and effective standardization in Canada. SCC oversees Canada's National Standards System.

Bureau de normalization du Québec (BNQ)

The Bureau de normalisation du Québec is accredited by the SCC as a standards development body authorized to develop standards up to the national level.

CSA Group Standards (CSA)

The Canadian Standards Association is an association serving business, industry, government and consumers in Canada and the global marketplace

Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB)

The CGSB is one of the largest standards development and conformity assessment organizations in Canada. 

Underwriters Laboratory of Canada (ULC)

ULC is a key architect of the Canadian National Safety System; they have tested products for public safety for 90 years and are accredited by the SCC.


Standards Bodies (List of International and National Standards bodies by ANSI)