- Search for Standards & Codes
- Requesting Standards & Codes
- Understanding Standard Names & Numbers
- Referencing Standards
- Standards Bodies
-
Accounting Standards
- Book a Research Help Appointment
Accounting StandardsSearch for Online Standards & Codes
Some standards are not available to libraries to purchase in online format. To explore all standards currently available, also search the print collection.
Online Technical Standards Collections
The Library subscribes to technical standards through the following collections.
-
CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new windowProvides access to all CSA standards.
CSA on demand CSAonDemand
-
American Welding Society eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Up to 50 users at a time
The American Welding Society's standards library. Includes the Welding Handbook.welding, handbook, standards
-
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the Materials Information Society, these handbooks describe the properties and performance of materials, particularly metals and alloys, and the manufacturing and fabrication processes for components.
materials, standards, handbook, metals, manufacturing, fabrication
-
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC) This link opens in a new windowFull access to all sections of this standard.
-
ASTM Standards & Digital Library This link opens in a new windowTechnical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. Also includes all manuals/monographs, technical papers, data series and journals.
materials, products, systems, testing, standards, American Society for Testing and Materials
-
Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new windowAccess standards from ICC, IEEE, ISO, and more. To request a standard we don't have, or if you have questions or technical difficulties, please email ettlibraryteam@conestogac.on.ca.
-
TAPPI Standards (Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry) This link opens in a new windowOn Campus Access Only
Access all technical standards, Technical Information Papers (TIPs) and Useful Methods (UMs) from the Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry. -
Techstreet Enterprise (Now called Engineering Workbench) This link opens in a new windowAccess standards from ICC, IEEE, ISO, and more. To request a standard we don't have, or if you have questions or technical difficulties, please email ETT Library Team.
-
CGSB StandardsCanadian General Standards Board Catalogue of standards related to petroleum, textiles, food, packaging, building construction and more. Most are available free of charge with immediate pdf download.
-
ASHRAE Popular StandardsRead-only versions of some popular ASHRAE standards.
Federal and Provincial Codes
Provinces and territories regulate the design and construction of new houses and buildings, and the maintenance and operation of fire safety systems in existing buildings. While the national model codes (Building, Fire, Plumbing, Energy Codes) are prepared centrally, adoption and enforcement of the national Codes are the responsibility of the provincial and territorial authorities having jurisdiction.
Ontario publishes their own codes based on the national (NRC) model codes.
-
National Building Code of Canada (2020) This link opens in a new window
Includes Structural Commentaries Details the technical provisions for the design and construction of new buildings, as well as the alteration, change of use and demolition of existing buildings.
-
National Building Code 2020: Illustrated User's Guide – Part 9 of Division B, Housing and Small BuildingsFeatures hundreds of graphics, examples and calculations.
-
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings (2020) This link opens in a new windowSets out technical requirements for the energy efficient design and construction of new buildings.
-
National Fire Code of Canada (2020) This link opens in a new windowDetails fire safety requirements for buildings, structures and areas where hazardous materials are used, and addresses fire protection and prevention in buildings and facilities.
-
National Plumbing Code of Canada (2020) This link opens in a new windowDetails technical provisions for the design and installation of new plumbing systems and the extension, alteration and repair of existing plumbing systems.
-
National Farm Building Code of Canada (1995)Comprises a model set of minimum requirements for farm buildings in matters affecting human health, fire safety and structural sufficiency.
-
Canadian Electrical Code, Part 1: safety standard for electrical installationsAvailable through CSA OnDemand. Search for Canadian Electrical Code and then select Document Type: Code on the left.
-
Ontario Building Code This link opens in a new windowThe official version of the Ontario Building Code.
-
2024 Building Code CompendiumThe 2024 Building Code comes into effect on January 1, 2025, with a three-month grace period until March 31, 2025 for certain designs that are already underway.
-
2012 Building Code CompendiumOntario. Building and Development Branch.
-
The Ontario Electrical Safety Code (OESC) 29th edition, 2024Includes the 2024 edition of the Canadian Electrical Code, Part I, plus Ontario-specific amendments. Access is available to all Ontario residents. To access the web version please log in with your CSA on Demand credentials, or sign up for a free account.
-
Ontario Electrical Safety Code (OESC) 28th Edition - 2021Includes the 25th edition of the Canadian Electrical Code, Part I, plus Ontario-specific amendments. Access is available to all Ontario residents. To access the web version please log in with your CSA on Demand credentials, or sign up for a free account.
-
Ontario Electrical Safety Code AmendmentsOESC 28th edition (2021). Ontario Amendments to Canadian Electrical Code, Part I, C22.1.
-
Ontario Fire CodeThe official version of the Ontario Fire Code.
-
Ontario Provincial Standards for Roads and Public WorksKey documents that are used for the design, construction, and maintenance of transportation infrastructure in Ontario.
Search Conestoga's Standards & Codes in Print
Below, click to view a list of print-based standards, and search it using keywords, title, or standard / code number.
Example Search:
When looking for SAFEGUARDING OF MACHINERY : CSA STANDARD Z432-04
You could search for:
- Safeguarding of Machinery or
- Z432-04 or
- Canadian Standards Association or
- Do a search for the word "specifications" and the topic of your standard (for example you could search for specifications safeguarding machinery).