Video Collections
The Library provides a wide array of streaming videos for Nursing. The Mosby's Nursing Skills collection and the Health Portal Streamed Video Series are Nursing-focused. Films on Demand, although more general in scope, includes a Nursing collection, and also a Health & Medicine collection. Kanopy allows you to browse subjects such as Health, Medicine, Nursing, and so on.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowContains educational streamed videos on a variety of academic, professional and technical topics.
Learn to use Films on Demand Find updated versions of many of the Mosby's Nursing Skills Videos and Mosby's Nursing Assistant Skills Videos within theClinical Skills Essentials Collection - Health Portal Streamed Video Series - Assessment of the Newborn This link opens in a new windowThis series provides an introduction to care of the newborn.
- Health Portal Streamed Video Series - Nursing Assessment This link opens in a new windowThe series discusses nursing assessment and includes demonstrations of appropriate examination techniques.
- Health Portal Streamed Video Series - Obstetrical Nursing This link opens in a new windowThe series focuses on aspects of obstetrical nursing.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIncludes films and documentaries from Criterion, California Newsreel, HBO, Psychotherapy.net, Learning Seed, Symptom Media and much more.
Learn to use Kanopy / Terms of Use (Kanopy) - Mosby's Nursing Assistant Skills Videos This link opens in a new windowOnline videos showing step-by-step procedures, skills and best practices performed by nursing assistants.
This resource is flash-based. As of December 31, 2020, Adobe is no longer supporting Flash Player, and beginning on January 12, 2021 Adobe will block Flash content from running in Flash Player. Updated versions of many of these videos can be found through the Library's Films on Demand subscription, as part of the Clinical Skills Essentials Collection. Videos on similar topics can also be found in the Library's Nursing Education in Video - Medcom Collection.
- Mosby’s Nursing Skills Videos (Basic, Intermediate and Advanced) This link opens in a new windowOnline videos featuring key nursing procedures, equipment, preparation, and documentation.
This resource is flash-based. As of December 31, 2020, Adobe is no longer supporting Flash Player, and beginning on January 12, 2021 Adobe will block Flash content from running in Flash Player. Updated versions of many of these videos can be found through the Library's Films on Demand subscription, as part of the Clinical Skills Essentials Collection. Videos on similar topics can also be found in the Library's Nursing Education in Video - Medcom Collection.
- Abusive Care VideoIn 2013 CTV's W5 investigative reporters discovered at least 1500 cases of staff to resident abuse or neglect inside Canadian nursing homes. Mistreatment often goes unreported and abusive workers are often protected under a lack of regulation. PLEASE NOTE: must view in Internet Explorer for captioning feature.
- Medcom Video Training Programs CollectionContains valuable skill-training videos, covering important topics such as health care safety, emergency planning, checking vital signs and many more.
Referencing with APA @ Conestoga