Featured Resource
- SolidWorks
- Catia
- DraftSight
- AutoCAD
- Revit
- Inventor
- Fusion 360
- OnShape
- Solid Edge
- Matlab
- Engineering & Design Theory
- 3D Printing
- MasterCam
- CamWorks
- Civil 3D
- 3DS Max
- SketchUp
- NavisWorks
- MeshMixer
- Ansys
- Swift Calcs
Search a Database for Articles
Start with one or more of these article databases. Each database contains a variety of resources, including, professional/trade magazines, news articles, academic journals, videos, and more.
- ABI Inform Trade and Industry This link opens in a new windowContains industry reports and magazines. Canadian content.
computing, construction, transportation, food technology, telecommunications, computers
Learn to use ABI Inform / Terms of Use (ABI Inform) - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals.
Learn to Use Academic Search Complete / Terms of Use (Academic Search Complete) - Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new windowA collection magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books.
Learn to Use Canadian Reference Centre - Gale in Context: Canada This link opens in a new windowIncludes magazines, academic journals, news articles, images, videos, etc. Canadian content.
Learn to use Gale in Context: Canada - Home Improvement Collection This link opens in a new windowMagazines, both general interest and trade-based, for home improvement hobbyists and professionals.
Learn to use Home Improvement Collection - Emerald Insight - Property Management and Built Environment Collection This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals on construction, property management, disaster resilience, and sustainable development.
facilities, apfm, building, environment, disaster, property, management, sustainable, sustainability, green, leed, construction, interior design, architecture
- Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals and magazines.
farming, food, agriculture, animal, crops
Learn to use Agriculture Collection
General Resources
These resources provide good introductions to topics, and include general information from resources such as videos, encyclopedia entries, case studies, and opinion pieces.
- Chilton Library This link opens in a new windowAccess detailed information for performing auto repair jobs.
auto, cars, handbooks, automobiles
Learn to use Chilton Library - BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowA site devoted to building design through a lens of sustainability. Contains authoritative information on progressive building design strategies, topics and issues.
building green, construction, interior design, sustainable, materials, green, solar, wind, toxic chemicals, waste management, responsible sourcing, resilient design, life-cycle assessment, daylighting, walkable communities, smart siting, building envelope, indoor air quality, lighting design, LEED, Fitwel, Fitwell, Energy Star, Living Building
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive encyclopedia, including videos, country comparisons, biographies, and a world atlas.
brittanica, brittannica, encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Online, encyclopedia brittanica, encyclopedia brittannica, brittannica academic, brittanica academic
- Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new windowMagazines and academic journals discussing science topics.
Learn to use Gale in Context: Science
E-books
Explore the full text of hundreds of thousands of books electronically, with 24/7 access wherever you have an internet connection.
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowFrom the Materials Information Society, these handbooks describe the properties and performance of materials, particularly metals and alloys, and the manufacturing and fabrication processes for components.materials, standards, handbook, metals, manufacturing, fabrication
- American Welding Society eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Up to 50 users at a time The American Welding Society's standards library. Includes the Welding Handbook.
welding, handbook, standards
- Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- EBSCOhost eBook & Audiobook Collection This link opens in a new window
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- O'Reilly Media (formerly Safari Books) This link opens in a new window
Video and Image Collections
The Library provides a wide variety of streaming videos. These videos include tutorials, documentaries and educational films, and can provide an interesting way to learn about a new topic. Search video collections for the subject you are interested in, such as Automotive Technology, Construction, Residential Energy Efficiency, and so on.
Videos
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new windowContains instructional videos exploring software, IT, design, technology and business skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals.
- SafetyHub Videos This link opens in a new windowCanadian workplace safety training videos for all types of work environments.
Learn to use SafetyHub Safety Hub forklift crane accident investigation hazards hazardous risks ppe personal protective equipment first aid cardiopulmonary resuscitation burns bullying welding arc welding MIG welding oxy acetylene TIG welding
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowContains educational streamed videos on a variety of academic, professional and technical topics.
Learn to use Films on Demand - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowIncludes films and documentaries from Criterion, California Newsreel, HBO, Psychotherapy.net, Learning Seed, Symptom Media and much more.
Learn to use Kanopy / Terms of Use (Kanopy)
Images
Image collections are a great resource for pictures that are available for educational use (make sure you cite your sources!). Use images to enhance your presentations and essays, or just to help clarify tough topics.
- Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new windowContains millions of rights-cleared photos, graphics and images for educational use.
brittanica, brittannica, encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Online, encyclopedia brittanica, encyclopedia brittannica, brittannica image quest, brittanica image quest, image quest
Training Guides
Training guides (also referred to as training manuals) help you learn how to use a particular resource or tool (such as software). They often include videos, practice tests, and other practical learning tools.
- Mastercam X5 Training Guides This link opens in a new windowThis resource is flash-based. Flash was retired in December 2020. This resource is no longer functional and will be removed from the Library after February 28, 2022. You can access current MasterCam training videos using the Library's access to SolidProfessor.
Directories
- Scott's Directories - Ontario Business Prospector This link opens in a new window
Provides company information on Ontario manufacturers, industrial and business-to-business firms.