Online Medical Reference
Look up drug information, symptoms, medical topics, and more in these online reference texts.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
This evidence-based database provides access to current medical knowledge at the point of care, including synthesis of evidence and recommendations for treatment. Gold standard for finding answers to clinical questions.
- CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
A professional drug and conditions reference guide. Search for drugs by brand or generic name for indications, interactions, warnings, etc. Also use this tool to find therapeutic choices for various medical conditions.
- Medical Dictionary from thefreedictionary.comThis free online medical dictionary is based on Stedman's Medical Dictionary (2nd ed.) and Dorland's Medical Dictionary for Health Care Consumers.
- Merriam-Webster Medical DictionaryMedical definitions from the reference experts at Merriam-Webster.
- MedlinePlusAuthoritative source containing information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other health organizations. Categories include a medical encyclopedia, dictionary, health topics and drugs & supplements.
- Merck Manual: Consumer VersionProvides free, full text access to the Merck Manuals.
- Merck Manual: Professional VersionProvides free, full text access to the Merck Manuals.
- Drug Information PortalThe National Library of Medicine provides information for 36, 323 drugs. Allows searching by drug name or category, and resources can be selected by audience or by class.
- RNAO Best Practice GuidelinesThe Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO) provides free access to their Nursing Best Practice Guidelines.
- CNO Practice Standards and GuidelinesThe College of Nurses of Ontario (CNO) provides free access to the Practice Standards & Guidelines that used to be contained in the Compendium of Standards of Practice for Nurses in Ontario.