Featured Resource
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
Article Databases
Start with one or more of these article databases:
Each database contains a variety of resources including scholarly journals, professional and trade magazines, news and the like.
For complementary suggestions, please visit the Facilities & the Built Environment Guide.
- Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals on architecture, graphic arts, interior design, photography, etc.
Learn to Use Art & Architecture Complete - Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals.
Learn to Use Academic Search Complete / Terms of Use (Academic Search Complete) - BuildingGreen This link opens in a new windowA site devoted to building design through a lens of sustainability. Contains authoritative information on progressive building design strategies, topics and issues.
building green, construction, interior design, sustainable, materials, green, solar, wind, toxic chemicals, waste management, responsible sourcing, resilient design, life-cycle assessment, daylighting, walkable communities, smart siting, building envelope, indoor air quality, lighting design, LEED, Fitwel, Fitwell, Energy Star, Living Building
- Building Types Online This link opens in a new windowA large international collection documenting contemporary building types with a focus on floor plans and other architectural drawings.
- GreenFile This link opens in a new windowIts collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Emerald Insight - Property Management and Built Environment Collection This link opens in a new windowContains academic journals on construction, property management, disaster resilience, and sustainable development.
facilities, apfm, building, environment, disaster, property, management, sustainable, sustainability, green, leed, construction, interior design, architecture
- Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals on topics related to engineering.
- Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals on topics such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology
- Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new windowA collection magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books including Architectural Design.
- EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new windowSearch this multidisciplinary collection of dissertation and theses records from around the world. Includes some Canadian content.
- ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains academic and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. Canadian content.
Learn to use ABI Inform / Terms of Use (ABI Inform) - Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA small collection of academic journals and magazines focused on landscaping and horticulture.
Learn to use Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection - Home Improvement Collection This link opens in a new windowMagazines, both general interest and trade-based, for home improvement hobbyists and professionals.
Learn to use Home Improvement Collection - Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes country and industry reports related to the tourism and hospitality industry, trade publications and academic journals.
Learn to Use Hospitality & Tourism Complete - PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess 56 Design magazines such as Wallpaper, Architecture + Design, Interior Design and domus.
Looking for Open Access Journals?
- Digital Commons Network: Architecture Open Access JournalsSearch free scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Search for Magazines, Newspapers and Journals by Title
Standards and Codes
Standards are documents that provide an agreed-upon set of rules that tell you how to do, test, or identify something in a repeatable and consistent way. Codes are standards that have been incorporated into law. The Library provides access to many standards and codes online.
- Overview of WELL and FitwelBuildingGreen's overview of WELL and Fitwel Standards including links to additional information.
- WELL Building Standard"The the next version of the pioneering WELL Building Standard™, the first rating system to focus exclusively on the impacts of buildings on human health and wellness."
- WELL Performance RatingInformed by the WELL Building Standard, the WELL Performance Rating focuses on measurable building performance strategies that are verified through onsite testing and sensor technology
- LEED Canada Green Building CouncilLeadership in Energy and Environmental Design or LEED is the global standard in green building.
- ASTM Standards & Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. Also includes all manuals/monographs, technical papers, data series and journals.
materials, products, systems, testing, standards, American Society for Testing and Materials
- Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
Access standards from ICC, IEEE, ISO, and more. To request a standard we don't have, or if you have questions or technical difficulties, please email Carrie Barrett.
Federal Codes
Adoption and enforcement of the NRC national model codes (Building, Fire, Plumbing, Energy) are the responsibility of the provincial and territorial authorities having jurisdiction.
- National Building Code of Canada (2020) This link opens in a new window
Includes Structural Commentaries Details the technical provisions for the design and construction of new buildings, as well as the alteration, change of use and demolition of existing buildings.
- National Fire Code of Canada (2020) This link opens in a new window
Unable to access? Please email eResources support.
Details fire safety requirements for buildings, structures and areas where hazardous materials are used, and addresses fire protection and prevention in buildings and facilities.
- National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings (2020) This link opens in a new window
Unable to access? Please email eResources support.
Sets out technical requirements for the energy efficient design and construction of new buildings.
- National Plumbing Code of Canada (2020) This link opens in a new window
Unable to access? Please email eResources support.
Details technical provisions for the design and installation of new plumbing systems and the extension, alteration and repair of existing plumbing systems.
Provincial Codes for Ontario
Ontario publishes their own codes based on the national model codes (above). The building, fire and plumbing codes are based on the national models, but with significant variations in content and scope. The Ontario Fire Code, in particular, is significantly different from the National Fire Code. Ontario also references the National Energy Code for Buildings in its building code.
- Ontario Building Code This link opens in a new windowThe official version of the Ontario Building Code.
- Ontario Fire CodeThe Ontario Fire Code is significantly different from the National Fire Code.
- Plumbing Code (Ontario Building Code)Plumbing is covered under Section 7 of the Ontario Building Code.
Video Collections
The Library provides a wide variety of streaming videos, including documentaries and educational films. Search for the subject you are interested in, such as Architecture, Design, Structural Engineering, etc.
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new windowContains instructional videos exploring software, IT, design, technology and business skills. Achieve your personal and professional goals.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window381 related videos found under the Architecture subject category.
E-book Collections
Explore the full text of hundreds of thousands of books electronically, with 24/7 access wherever you have an internet connection.
- Access Engineering This link opens in a new windowContains engineering eBooks.
engineering, handbook, mechanical, materials, industrial, electrical, energy
Terms of Use (Access Engineering) - EBSCOhost eBook & Audiobook Collection This link opens in a new windowA large collection of eBooks on a range of topics. In addition to online viewing, many are downloadable. A small set of audiobooks is also available.
How to Download an EBSCO ebook / Terms of Use (EBSCO Academic eBook Collection) - Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA large collection of eBooks on many different college-level topics. Includes Canadian content.
How to Download an eBook Central ebook / Terms of Use (eBook Central - College Complete eBook Collection) - O'Reilly Media (formerly Safari Books) This link opens in a new window
Books, videos and more. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Formerly Safari eBooks.
- SpringerLink eBooks Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for Interior Design. Note: you must un-check "Include Preview-Only Content" to see only content available in Conestoga's collection
Image Collections
Search the Library's image collections for pictures of significant buildings or other structures. You can use these images in your reports and presentations, or easily post them to eConestoga.
- Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of rights-cleared photos, graphics and images for educational use.
brittanica, brittannica, encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Online, encyclopedia brittanica, encyclopedia brittannica, brittannica image quest, brittanica image quest, image quest
- Pexels Interior Design PhotosThis website contains free images for non-commercial use. Always cite the source of an image unless specified otherwise.
- Pixabay Interior Design PhotosThis website contains free images for non-commercial use. Always cite the source of an image unless specified otherwise.