Library & Learning Services: IT & Computing: Search Databases

Featured Resource

Gartner Research

Industry-specific research, insight, and analysis for the information technology field. To access content, please log in with your CONDOR ID credentials.

Featured Resource

LinkedIn Learning

Contains instructional videos exploring software, IT, design, technology and business skills. To access content, please log in with your CONDOR ID credentials.

Article Databases

Start with one or more of these article databases. Each database contains a variety of resources, including academic journals, professional/trade magazines, news articles, videos, and more.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Academic journals from the Association for Computing Machinery. Terms of Use (ACM Digital Library)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to IEEE's core collection of engineering, electronics and computer science journals and eBooks.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines covering topics in information technology and computer science
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Includes professional and trade magazines related to the computer industry. Learn to use Computer Database
Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals on topics related to telecommunications.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals.
Learn to Use Academic Search Complete / Terms of Use (Academic Search Complete)
/*For Use In Future - Logo can be pasted in Description. Figure out how to hide at smaller screen size and put it in a box or circle for added snazziness*/
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals related to engineering and science.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals on topics of applied and general sciences.

Also try the following databases:

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains academic and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. Canadian content.
Learn to use ABI Inform / Terms of Use (ABI Inform)
br{display: none;}

An Example of How to Reference a Trade Journal or Magazine Article in APA @ Conestoga Format

Crane, R. (2016, June 27). Why the Execution of an Idea is More Important than the Idea Itself. Advertising Age. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database.

More About Referencing Magazines

An Example of How to Reference a Report in APA @ Conestoga Format

First Research. (2016). Beer, Wine & Distilled Spirits Wholesalers - Quarterly Update 2/15/2016. [Industry Report]. Retrieved January 1, 2017, from ABI/Inform Trade & Industry database.

More About Referencing Reports
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A large collection of academic journals. Learn to Use Communication and Mass Media Complete
ASME Digital Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
All journals and conference proceedings, as well as select book titles, from the American Association of Mechanical Engineers.
Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and trade magazines on topics in computer and information technology, telecommunications, electronics, etc. Learn to use ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Collection
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Academic journals on topics related to engineering.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and magazines pertaining to military and government issues. Contains some international coverage, including Canada. Learn to Use Military & Government Collection
Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and reports.

Looking for Open Access articles? Try:

ArXiv
An open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of computer science, physics, mathematics, statistics, electrical engineering and more.
Science of Security and Privacy (SoS)
Open access cybersecurity papers.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Ditgital Commons Network: Electrical and Computer Engineering
Use this online resource to search free, full-text open access scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.

General Resources

These resources provide good introductions to topics, and include general information from resources such as videos, encyclopedia entries, case studies, and opinion pieces.

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Magazines and academic journals discussing science topics. Learn to use Gale in Context: Science
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive encyclopedia, including videos, country comparisons, biographies, and a world atlas.