What types of material can be submitted to the collection?

The following materials are considered a priority for addition:

• Materials that have significant legal, historical, fiscal, administrative, or promotional value for the preservation of Conestoga’s history, growth, and development
• Administrative and operational records and reports created, received, and maintained by the Office of the President, Vice Presidents, Deans, Departments, Directors/Managers, and other offices and positions of comparable significance
• Meeting minutes of the Board of Governors and College Council
• College publications, past and future works of a similar nature
• Select Conestoga College building & site plans, contracts, campus maps or Course Caborrowars
• Convocation programs and yearbooks

Private papers and/or works of prominent individual staff, faculty, students, and alumni, along with artifacts, will be considered for collection on a case-by-case basis if of significant value to the Conestoga community.
The following materials are not collected:

• More than one copy of an item already in the collection
• Routine records and correspondence
• Poor quality photographs
• Obsolete media formats, e.g. filmstrips, floppy discs
• Any item with insufficient identification or context

The Conestoga Library does not actively collect maps, games, software, CDROMs, CDs or music files, or realia.

How can I access Conestoga’s Archives in their original format?

Visitors can view items in the library's Archives Room. Physical items are kept in the Archives Room at the Doon Campus library. This is a controlled access room, so contact library staff at ARC@conestogac.on.ca to arrange an appointment. Note that some objects exist only in digital format, and a physical copy may not be available.
Please note that items in this collection typically may not be removed from the Archives Room or signed out of the library; however, individual requests will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

Are alternate formats available?

A portion of the Archives collection is fully accessible and AODA compliant. Other items may be eligible to be converted into an accessible alternate format upon request. Contact us at ARC@conestogac.on.ca for more information.